Teachers Honor Aptakisic Junior High Students

Jessica Zheng, Stanley Fayn and Jack Rappaport are this year's award recipients.

Each year, two students, one boy and one girl, are selected by teachers for their commitment to service and leadership qualities. Each recipient of this award receives a $50 savings bond in honor of Bob Basofin who was a leader in .

This year, the eighth-grade teachers selected Jessica Zheng and Stanley Fayn to receive this award. Jessica Zheng not only strives for excellence through her grades, but also takes a leadership role through her participation in the PALS program, Orphans of the Storm, Newspaper Club, National Junior Honor Society and many other activities. Stanley Fayn immerses himself into AJHS activities such as volleyball, orchestra and Sforzando Strings. Stanley doesn't let a challenge stand in his way — he is a self-advocate and works well with others in groups.

Jack Rappaport is the recipient of the Douglas Parks Award. He is a diligent, responsible student who always has a smile on his face and is very considerate of others. He is a class leader who works well with others and takes initiative in class.

— Submitted by Edie Eiseman-Axe


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something