.

Lisa Stone: 'Now it's up to You'

Letter to the editor

When I was asked to run for the elected position of Trustee of Buffalo Grove, I took a few weeks to evaluate if the position was right for me and if I was right for the position. While not a politician, I felt my integrity and honesty would guide my decisions on all issues that came my way. 

What I discovered was that the “job” was far more complex. As a mother, I felt an overwhelming responsibility for the health and safety of my children and that feeling then transcended my family to society as a whole. So when an issue of health or safety arises where I feel I can make a difference, I take up the cause and work hard to try to make a difference. Be it legislation for higher restrictions relative to Pit Bulls/Rottweilers, Heroin Awareness & Prevention or Landfill Toxins reaching the groundwater, I have spoken out regardless of controversy, opposition or political power behind the issue I was confronting.  

Some have said I am an activist, a watchdog or a whistle blower. Regardless, for me it is natural and necessary. Sadly, we live in a world where leaders compromise their convictions for political correctness, to "fit in" with their "party" or to please their contributors, all of which undermines their ability to be sincere to their constituents and do what is in the best interest of the people.  

I have learned first hand that standing up for truth is indeed a difficult and costly battle. Nonetheless, it is a battle that must be fought for the sake of society and our children's future. The time to act is not when it's too late and the damage is done; the time to act is when you are aware of a problem.

I acted on the landfill "releases" and independent experts have documented the truth, which was ignored by our government officials. I brought this truth to the public to the very best of my ability and resources. I hope that some of the agencies and people that I have recently alerted are looking into the scientific records that exist and will act as well. As for the public, I have provided the information and raised the issues of concern.

Please note, I sent a to the IEPA on January 3, 2012, an on January 12, 2012, and a on January 13, 2012 on my behalf. (Click on the hyperlinks to read these documents which are also attached below.)

Please take the time to read the information, as knowledge is power. Democracy works, but you must get involved to make a difference. Those in power often recruit their minions to maintain the status quo and stay in office with no regard for what is best for the general public. Changes can be effectuated for the health and safety of the community. Now, it's up to you.

Sincerely,

Lisa Stone

"Only when the last tree has died and the last river been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realize we cannot eat money."

~Cree Indian Proverb

StandToReason January 16, 2012 at 06:43 PM
The truth was "ignored by our government officials"? It most certainly was not! The government officials at the Illinois EPA (the real experts) granted you a public hearing and extended the ruling deadline date several time to investigate the evidence presented by you and your experts. Here is the IEPA's response to every issue that was brought up: http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/responsiveness-summary.pdf
StandToReason January 16, 2012 at 07:06 PM
On the other hand, if you were referring to our local officials it turns out that they were absolutely correct in deferring the investigation and subsequent ruling to the IEPA. Honesty and integrity are important qualities for a politician to have. Here are a few more admirable qualities: being able to objectively listen to all sides of an issue, being able to discern fact from fiction, having the capability to recognize when you are wrong, and, most importantly, the courage to admit it.
Janet Sirabian January 17, 2012 at 10:39 PM
According to this letter, you believe that your "independent experts" are more qualified than the IEPA? Is that correct? You seem to be saying that the IEPA ignored the truth. What would be the benefit to the IEPA to ignore the truth? These reports have been studied by many, many experts over many, many months, and all of them have found the site to be safe. The opinions of all of those experts is what I would refer to as "truth" rather than accusations from someone with no qualifications.
sally January 18, 2012 at 01:47 AM
I don't know Lisa Stone personally, nor have I ever met her. I have however been following her time as an elected trustee and then her removal from this position via an election. While I understand that people have strong opinions and frustrations regarding Lisa Stone, I don't understand the disrespectful manner that people have expressed themselves. The hatred is palpable. I am remembering the photos of the village president wearing a back wig to mock Lisa Stone while waiting for the results to come in to unseat her, as well as the many, many hateful letters. She is a human being with feelings, and has the right to express her opinion like everyone else. Being able to express your views without the use of name-calling or disrespect shows maturity and self-control. There is a way to get your point across without appearing childish.
Lisa Stone January 18, 2012 at 03:45 PM
Independent Expert on Phenol and groundwater monitors- Environmental Law Professor Keith Harley, Director of the Chicago Environmental Law Clinic and Co-Director of the Program in Environmental and Energy Law. Keith Harley is the director of the Chicago Environmental Law Clinic, a collaboration between Chicago-Kent and the Chicago Legal Clinic. The Chicago Environmental Law Clinic provides legal advocacy, education and volunteer services to people confronting urban environmental problems in the Chicago area. Keith is a 1982 graduate of Moravian College and received a Master of Divinity degree from Princeton Theological Seminary in 1985. He graduated from Chicago-Kent in 1988 with a Certificate in Environmental and Energy Law and initiated a public interest environmental practice on Chicago's Southeast Side shortly thereafter. For the past 17 years, Keith has served as an adjunct professor of law in Chicago-Kent's Environmental and Energy Law Program, for which he also serves as co-director. For the past 10 years, he also served as adjunct professor of law at Northwestern University Law School and is also an adjunct professor in Northwestern University's Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and at IIT Stuart School of Business. Keith has been appointed to many federal, state and local environmental policymaking initiatives and served as the chair of the Chicago Bar Association's Environmental Law Committee from 2006 to 2009. Also, Shaw Environmental and others.
StandToReason January 18, 2012 at 04:12 PM
Lisa - Does Mr. Harley refute the IEPA's findings as noted in their responsiveness summary linked above? If so, perhaps he could provide undisputable scientific reasons why he is right and the geologists and chemists at the IEPA are wrong. If he is right, then perhaps the Chicago Environmental Law Clinic can file a lawsuit to prevent development of the Land & Lakes site - keep us posted. Respectfully, The RelentlessComic.
Lisa Stone January 18, 2012 at 09:14 PM
On November 9, 2010, at the Land & Lakes Landfill Public Hearing at Village Hall in Buffalo Grove Illinois, the IEPA made the following statement: “All significant issues will be responded to in writing in the response of the summary.” After 3 date extensions by Land and Lakes Landfill and 1 further clarification of deadline, on January 13, 2012, the IEPA Responsiveness Summary responded to what appears to sound like superficial health concerns yet they did not address or even memorialize any of the grave health concerns that Dr. Steven Harris specifically asserted on November 9, 2010. At the Public Hearing Dr. Harris raised significant concerns related to Phenol, which included Renal Failure, Lung Damage and Death, among other serious health issues. Dr. Harris distinctly stated the vulnerability of children and bone marrow suppression and anemia, due to the change in body weight ratio. These significant concerns are not addressed or even mentioned in the Responsiveness Summary. See the Responsiveness Summary of January 13, 2012 and the Public Hearing Transcript of November 10, 2010 for comparison. Excerpts below, as well as direct web links for convenience to follow. (next)
Lisa Stone January 18, 2012 at 09:22 PM
Compare & Contrast: (Public Hearing Transcript to Responsiveness Summary) PUBLIC HEARING TRANSCRIPT: http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/hearing-transcript.pdf Page #1 IN RE: ILL ADM. CODE PUBLIC HEARING, LAND AND LAKES WHEELING LANDFILL 705.182 REPORT OF PROCEEDINGS at above-entitled cause, taken before Rebecca A. Graziano, Certified Shorthand Reporter within and for the County of Lake and State of Illinois, at the Village Hall of Buffalo Grove, Council Chambers, Buffalo Grove, Illinois, commencing at the hour of 6:00 p.m. on the 9th day of November, A.D., 2010. ILLINOIS ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY NOVEMBER 9, 2010 ~~~~~~~~~ Page #3, Line 1-10: MR. STUDER: "Good evening. For those of you that aren't seated, if you'd like to have a seat and we'll go ahead and get started this evening. I'll start by reading an opening statement into the record. My name is Dean Studer, and I'm a hearing officer for the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, otherwise referred to as Illinois EPA or IEPA. On behalf of director Doug Scott, I welcome you all to tonight's hearing." Page #7, Line 10-12: "All significant issues will be responded to in writing in the response of the summary." (next)
Lisa Stone January 18, 2012 at 09:25 PM
Page #38, Line 20-24, Page #39, Line 1-24, Page #40, Line 1-7 MR. HARRIS: May name is Steven Harris, H-a-r-r-i-s. I am an internal medicine specialist in Vernon Hills here to discuss the dangers of phenol toxicity. I was formally on staff at Lake Forest Hospital, as well as Condell Medical Center, where I was the chairman of the department of medicine for two years. Medicine is evidence-based. All science is based on fact, as well as phenol toxicity. Symptoms are many, and they include, number one, ingestion of phenol, which may cause abdominal pain, nausea, vomiting, seizures, increased heart rate, renal failure, as well as death. Number two, inhalation, which may cause all of the above, as well as severe lung damage. Number three, eye and skin damage may occur. All of the above may occur with extremely small amounts of phenol, and flushing with water immediately is recommended, as well as skin and eye protection. (next)
Lisa Stone January 18, 2012 at 09:28 PM
(con't from Harris testimony above) "Children are much more vulnerable, due to the change in body weight ratio. Bone marrow suppression, as well as anemia may occur. Some medical problems are short-term, others are long term. We don't know, however, the time length these symptoms may occur. There is no antidote at this time for phenol toxicity. Emergent care is necessary. Rapid decontamination and -- I apologize -- decontamination and support of the respiratory system, as well as the cardiovascular system, is crucial. The best strategy for phenol toxication is to prevent this in the first place. Thereby monitoring of the water supply is crucial. I thank you for your time." MR. STUDER: Did you want to submit that as an exhibit? (Document tendered.)
StandToReason January 18, 2012 at 09:39 PM
Dear Editor Cristel Mohrman - Would you be so kind as to contact Professor Harley and Dr. Harris and ask them to comment on the IEPA ruling? The citizens of Buffalo Grove would like to know if these gentlemen agree with Lisa Stone, disagree with the findings of the IEPA, and whether or not they believe that the landfill poses a real risk to the surrounding communities. I'm sure Lisa Stone can provide you with their contact information if you do not have it. Thanks!
Lisa Stone January 18, 2012 at 09:43 PM
RESPONSIVENESS SUMMARY: http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/responsiveness-summary.pdf PAGE # 14 Below IEPA summarizes the Human Health and Public Safety concerns raised at the IEPA Public Hearing. Human Health and Public Safety 18. Phenol toxicity presents with a variety of symptoms that may include and involve the digestive tract, respiratory tract, skin and eyes. The best strategy for phenol toxicity is to prevent it in the first place therefore monitoring of the water supply is crucial. Compare & Contrast the 11-9-2010 Public Hearing Transcript to the 1-13-2012 Responsiveness Summary. Public Hearing Transcript (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/hearing-transcript.pdf (landfill owned by Lake Forest Mayor-James Cowhey)
Lisa Stone January 18, 2012 at 09:47 PM
Land & Lakes Landfill links: • Permit Decision Deadline (Decision Date of Record): January 16, 2012 • Public Hearing Date: November 9, 2010 • Available Documents: ◦ Public Notice (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/index.pdf ◦ Public Hearing Fact Sheet (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/fact-sheet.pdf ◦ Public Hearing Transcript (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/hearing-transcript.pdf ◦ Extension of Deadline (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/extension.pdf ◦ Second Extension of Deadline (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/second-extension.pdf ◦ Third Extension of Deadline (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/third-extension.pdf ◦ Clarification of Decision Deadline (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/decision-deadline-clarification.pdf ◦ Approval Letter (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/approval-letter.pdf ◦ Letter of Availability (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/letter-of-availability.pdf ◦ Responsiveness Summary (PDF) http://www.epa.state.il.us/public-notices/2010/land-lakes-wheeling-landfill/responsiveness-summary.pdf
Lisa Stone January 18, 2012 at 10:58 PM
Great idea! I would include contacting Shaw Environmental who identified "alarming" issues in 2005 when they were commissioned by Buffalo Grove Board Resolution. After Shaw delivered the Preliminary Review to Buffalo Grove, BG unexpectedly dropped Shaw and never looked back, though BG collected Brownfield Grant money for said study ($50% of $11.8K), yet the Shaw Preliminary Review was missing from government record in Buffalo Grove in 2010 when I FOIA'd BG. Fortunately, I found the Preliminary Review (dated April 2005) in Lake County, via FOIA, as Lake County officially voted & granted the money to BG in 2005. (the money was never used "in exchange" to clean the water, per the intergovernmental agreement) We'll never know what the BG Board was thinking back then, as the closed exec session audio disappeared from under lock & key when I requested hearing it in 2010. The minutes only state that Shaw enviro study was discussed. Period. I'd also suggest pursuing Albert Ettinger's opinion, as he is considered THE renowned expert of the Clean Water Act itself. The location and exact distance of all of the community wells and the private wells feeding 5000+, from the nearest wellhead/s to the permitted landfill boundary line should be clear. IEPA should have that info, I think it's called a thumbprint. The location of the Aptakisic Creek alongside the landfill and (where is?) the Recharging Zone/Area for all of the wells, should presented as well. Finally, RC, we agree.
Tina January 20, 2012 at 01:00 AM
I agree Sally, I agree. Lisa Stone has many bullies for no reason. I don't get why people just can't leave her alone. You got her out of office, now stop!
StandToReason January 20, 2012 at 02:46 PM
You're right Sally! From now on, I'll refrain from commenting when I witness fear-mongering and character smears.
Janet Sirabian January 20, 2012 at 08:22 PM
I believe everyone agreed to abide by the IEPA decision. Now that decision has been rendered, because they do not agree with you, you accuse them of being wrong. Amazing.
Art January 21, 2012 at 05:44 PM
No, Janet, she accuses them of "compromis(ing) their convictions for political correctness, to "fit in" with their "party" or to please their contributors." She accuses public officials (village, IEPA) of looking the other way to line their own pockets? Is there any evidence or even a HINT of fact in that? Of course not. Because the decision by EXPERTS did not agree with her position, she wants to continue to beat the same old drum. Sally & Tina - while I do not condone all of the comments made in these discussions, the baseless accusations and fear-mongering by Ms. Stone is what brings these things on. If she could ever admit that her fears were unfounded, based on the actual scientific evidence, and stop trying to incite baseless fear and accusations, perhaps people would leave her alone.
sally January 21, 2012 at 10:48 PM
While I'm not saying that Lisa Stone has evidence that the IEPA is "looking the other way", with regard to this issue, do people honestly feel that there is no corruption within governmental agencies? That's amazing. Art - I appreciate that you had the maturity to mention that you don't condone all of the comments that have been made. As I said, you can still get your point across without hatred for the person you disagree with.
AH Vixen January 19, 2013 at 07:30 AM
Sally, I believe corruption exists within government agencies. However, my belief that such corruption exists does not mean that all government agencies are corrupt or that the specific agency under discussion here is corrupt. It would be illogical to make such an assumption. That's like saying "do people honestly feel that there is no wrongdoing among people in Cook and Lake counties" and then insinuating that because of course there is such wrongdoing that all the people (or a select group chosen by Stone) is guilty of wrongdoing.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »